Open Source Portal for Science Education & Reference

Classification of Fungi

10 April 2012 - Microbiology - Javed Shaik - 1 Comment

Traditionally fungi have been regarded as plants. At one time fungi were given the status of a class and together with the class algae formed the division Thallophyta of the Plant Kingdom. The thallophyta were those plants whose bodies could be described as thalli. A thallus is a body, often flat, which is not differentiated into true roots, stem and leaves and lack a true vascular system. A modification of the scheme of classification of fungi proposed by Ainsworth(1973) and adopted by Webster(1980) is outlined below.

Division Myxomycota: They lack cell wall and are quite unusual organisms. Possess either a plasmodium, a mass of naked, multinucleate protoplasm, which feeds by ingesting particulate matter and shows amoeboid movement, or pseudoplasmodium, an aggregation of separate amoeboid cells. Both are of a slimy consistency, hence they are also called “Slime moulds”. It includes three classes.

Division Eumycota: True fungi, all with cell wall. It is customary to recognize five subdivisions under this division.

Related Post

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Classification of Fungi”

Leave a Reply

Do you want regular updates on Science & Technology, Medical & Engineering Entrance Exams?

Join over 3000 enthusiasts, who want to update their skills in Science and Technology and keep updated with current trends. You will receive regular updates on:

  • Latest Science & Technology Articles
  • Updates on Medical & Engineering Entrance Exams Worldwide
  • Tips and Tricks to clear Global Entrance Exams
Close this popup